Dynamo Moscow Wins Gagarin Cup

Dynamo Moscow wins the Gagarin Cup

For the second year in a row, Dynamo Moscow has won the KHL’s Gagarin Cup. Dynamo defeated Traktor Chelyabinsk 3-2 in overtime to win game six and clinch the series.

Alexei Tsvetkov scored the overtime game and series winning goal, banging home a rebound nearly six minutes into the overtime session. Michael Garnett, goalie for Chelyabinsk, was on the ice after stopping a Denis Kokarev shot when Tsvetkov capitalized on the loose puck.

The game was close throughout, with no team holding more than a one goal lead. Traktor scored the first goal, tallying 14:26 into the game with a power-play goal from Maxim Yakutsenya.

In the middle of the second, Sergei Soin tied the game for Dynamo. Less than three minutes later, Dynamo stole the lead after Dmitry Pestunov smacked home a rebound from Dominik Granak’s shot from the point.

Things were looking good for Dynamo as they held on to a one goal lead through the remainder of the second and into the third. Midway through the third period, Petri Kontiola came in one on one against Dynamo goaltender Alexander Yeryomenko and made a nice move before firing a shot over Yeryomenko’s glove.

Chances were exchanged throughout the remainder of the third, and into overtime. Dynamo and Traktor each killed a penalty in the overtime period, but neither team could clinch with the man advantage.

Dynamo clearly had a solid team, retaining many players from their Gagarin Cup winning squad last season. Interestingly enough, their two leading scorers at the end of the season were Washington Capitals teammates Alexander Ovechkin and Nicklas Backstrom. Ovechkin had 40 points in 30 games for Dynamo, while Backstrom tallied 25 in 19 games.

Check out highlights from Dynamo Moscow’s Gagarin Cup win below!

[youtube id=”iPyM2tX27UY” width=”620″ height=”360″]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *