NHL Award Finalists To Be Revealed (With Predictions)

The NHL announced today that player awards will be revealed beginning Wednesday April 27 and will continue everyday until May 7. They also announced that the awards show will take place Wednesday, June 22, at The Joint, a concert and entertainment inside the Hard Rock Hotel & Casino in Las Vegas. Actor Will Arnett has been tapped a the host and an ensemble of entertainers will be revealed as presenters in the coming days.

NHL Awards

This is the eighth straight year the NHL Awards has been held in Las Vegas, spread across many hotels, casinos and concert venues. This is the first time being held at Hard Rock after being at MGM Grand last year.

The following is a list of when the NHL will reveal the finalist for each award, as well as a list of who I feel should be a finalist.

Wednesday, April 27
Vezina Trophy (top goaltender)

Prediction: Braden Holtby, Ben Bishop, Corey Crawford

Thursday, April 28
Selke Trophy (forward who best excels in the defensive aspects of the game)

Prediction: Anze Kopitar, Patrice Bergeron, Pavel Datsyuk

Friday, April 29
Norris Trophy (top defenseman)

Prediction: Brian Campbell, Erik Karlsson, Brent Burns

Saturday, April 30
Lady Byng Trophy (player best combining sportsmanship and ability)

Prediction: Pavel Datsyuk, Anze Kopitar, Sean Monahan

Sunday, May 1
Masterton Trophy (perseverance and dedication to hockey)

Prediction: Pascal Dupuis, Mike Condon, Jaromir Jagr

Monday, May 2
Calder Trophy (top rookie)

Prediction: Artemi Panarin, Shayne Gostisbehere, Dylan Larkin

Tuesday, May 3
NHL Foundation Player Award (community service)

Wednesday, May 4
Mark Messier Leadership Award

Thursday, May 5
Ted Lindsay Award (most outstanding player as voted by the players)

Prediction: Patrick Kane, Alexander Ovechkin, Joe Thornton

Friday, May 6
Jack Adams Award (top head coach)

Prediction: Barry Trotz, Lindy Ruff, Gerard Gallant

Saturday, May 7
Hart Trophy (most valuable player to his team)

Prediction: Patrick Kane, Alexander Ovechkin, Braden Holtby (Although you can make a case for last year’s Hart Trophy winner Carey Price, despite playing only 12 games).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *