Neidermayer, Chelios highlight list of Hall of Fame inductees

070913hhofnodsScott Neidermayer, Chris Chelios, Brendan Shanahan, Fred Shero and Geraldine Heaney were all announced as the latest Hall of Fame inductees today.

“The Hockey Hall of Fame is proud to welcome these five hockey legends as Honored Members,” said Jim Gregory, co-chair of the Hall of Fame Selection Committee. “Their contributions to the game of hockey are well documented and their election to the Hockey Hall of Fame is richly deserved.”

Neidermayer and Chelios were both in their first year of Hall of Fame eligibility.

Neidermayer is a four-time Stanley Cup winner and a two-time Olympic champion. He is also a former Norris Trophy and Conn Smythe Trophy winner. In his career split between the New Jersey Devils and Anaheim Ducks, the blueliner racked up 172 goals and 568 assists in 1,263 NHL games. He also appeared in five NHL All-Star Games.

“My goal was always just to make the National Hockey League,” said Niedermayer. “Joining people in the Hall of Fame that I’ve always looked up to is a tremendous thrill.”

Chelios played in 1,651 career games throughout 26 NHL seasons with the Montreal Canadiens, Chicago Blackhawks, Detroit Red Wings and Atlanta Thrashers. He won the Stanley Cup three times and is a former Norris Trophy winner as well. Chelios also represented the United States at three Olympic Games, winning the silver medal in 2002.

“It’s a great honor to be selected for the Hockey Hall of Fame,” said Chelios. “To have such a long career in the game has been fantastic for me, and being named to the Hall is a huge recognition for what I was able to accomplish.”

Shanahan, now the Vice President of Hockey and Business Development and Director of Player Safety, played in 1,524 games, scoring 656 career goals and adding 698 assists. He spent time with the New Jersey Devils, St. Louis Blues, Hartford Whalers, Detroit Red Wings and New York Rangers, winning three Stanley Cups in his 21-year career. He was also named to eight NHL All-Star Games.

Heaney represented Canada’s national women’s ice hockey team on numerous occasions between 1990 and 2002, winning a combined seven IIHF World Women’s Championship gold medals and Olympic gold and silver medals during that span. She remains the all-time leading scorer amongst defenders in women’s hockey with 27 goals and 66 assists in 125 games.

“As a child growing up you watch it on TV and it was a male game when I played,” Heaney said. “Going down to the Hall of Fame many times, you would never see any females, so you really didn’t think, ‘Could this ever happen?’ I’m so glad that it has.”

Shero coached 10 seasons in the NHL with the Philadelphia Flyers and New York Rangers. He led the Flyers to their only two Stanley Cup victories. He also coached the Flyers to the Stanley Cup Finals in 1976 and the Rangers in 1979. He won the Jack Adams award as coach of the year in 1974.

“I never expected this to happen,” Ray Shero said. “I think it’s a great step and an honor for my father, certainly.”

All five honorees will officially be inducted into the Hall of Fame on November 11.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *